Seven major ethical systems

Under deontology, an act may be considered right even if the act produces a bad consequence, [35] if it follows the rule or moral law. According to the deontological view, people have a duty to act in a way that does those things that are inherently good as acts "truth-telling" for exampleor follow an objectively obligatory rule as in rule utilitarianism. Immanuel Kant's theory of ethics is considered deontological for several different reasons.

Seven major ethical systems

Develops character, not just obey laws this is a strength. You develop an image of what the ideal person is. The wise teach the young. Holds up virtues as ideals, as well as determinants of morality.

In the middle ages in the Western world, the definition changes to Christian following the example of Jesus. A good person today is a virtuous person, a person who functions.

Definitions of virtue vary. For example, as in heroes.

Seven major ethical systems

A hero could be a political hero, a war hero. It can be all kinds of heroes, with its own definition of virtue. Male and Female Ethics Women tend to live in a world of social relations, emotions. It contrasts with men who tend to live in a world of principle. If you leave it to men alone, we would live in a very competitive and individualistic world.

Immanuel Kant [Duty Ethics] 5.

Seven major ethical systems

Pure reasoning is the source of morality. In other words, the most basic thing about people is, they want to live in a good society, have relationships with other people.

He said we have an obligation to do the right thing.


Duty Ethics say we have a duty to achieve good. How do you figure out what is good? He says your reasoning can figure that out. He also says, to be moral, an action must be voluntary. Morality is a conscious action according to his way of thinking.

He says, morality is discovered by pure reason not by law or consequences. Duty Ethics is a very famous system. Here are the rules for Duty Ethics: First, act only according to that maxim rulewhich can be a universal law for all people in all circumstances.There are seven major ethical systems that make up Deontological and Teleological Ethical Systems.

Ethical formalism is what is good is that which conforms to the categorical imperative. Ethical formalism is the doctrine that certain actions are good (ie, the right thing to do) or evil (ie, the wrong thing to do) in and of themselves, apart.

The main types of ethical systems include ethical relativism, divine command theory, deontology, utilitarianism and virtue ethics. These ethical systems stem from the study of moral philosophy and are influenced by the thought of Aristotle and Kant. The six major ethical systems are antinomianism, situationism, generalism, unqualified absolutism, conflicting absolutism, and graded absolutism.

The first three of these six major ethical systems represents non-Christian based beliefs. The following three are /5(1). Ethical Systems The picture above suggests a way to integrate ethical systems on the basis of the structure of action.

Ethical reflection can begin with the acting subject, the action itself, or the outcome. Aug 28,  · Duty Ethics is a very famous system. Here are the rules for Duty Ethics: Here are the rules for Duty Ethics: First, act only according to that maxim (rule), which can be a universal law for all people in all caninariojana.coms: Start studying 8 Main Ethical Systems.

Learn vocabulary, terms, and more with flashcards, games, and other study tools. Search. (ethical purity and moral separation) Zeal for God (God is highest priority) Four Major Ethical Systems. 20 terms.

Chapter 4: Managing Ethics and Social Responsibility. Features. Quizlet Live.

Ethics - The history of Western ethics |